Here’s what Oakland’s new district map means for OUSD schools

The Oakland Redistricting Fee adopted a new district map for the metropolis on Wednesday evening, and the revised boundaries location some OUSD schools in new districts. The improvements also have ramifications for quite a few school board races this November.

Oakland’s Town Council and school board share the similar 7 district boundaries, but the connection amongst OUSD school board directors and their constituents is a bit more sophisticated than the City Council’s. OUSD directors, like councilmembers, are elected by the people of their districts—but because OUSD has open enrollment and pupils aren’t confined to their neighborhood universities, family members living in one particular district may have kids who show up at educational institutions in one more.

The school board seats for Districts 2, 4, and 6 will be up for election this November. Those seats are at this time held by Aimee Eng, Gary Yee, and Shanthi Gonzales, respectively. No faculty board candidates have formally filed paperwork still to operate.

District 5 Director Mike Hutchinson’s seat is not up for reelection this yr. But Hutchinson, who lives in Glenview, claimed he programs to run for the open up District 4 seat, since the new district map places his neighborhood there.

“I imagine it is actually critical that our elected representatives really stand for their districts,” he explained. “If I’m dwelling in D4, and that is up for election, that’s the seat that I really should be jogging for. And that will make sure that D5 will be represented by somebody who essentially lives in D5.”

Hutchinson’s recent term as director of District 5 is up in 2024. If he ended up elected in November to symbolize District 4 up coming 12 months, he would resign from his recent seat and the school board could appoint someone to fill it, or hold a special election.

Examine on to see how the new map impacts the placement of precise colleges. You can study much more about Oakland’s redistricting process by looking at The Oaklandside’s former coverage, and watch an interactive variation of the new district map on the net

This list of faculties down below will improve further as OUSD strategies to near 7 educational facilities more than the following two decades. 

District 1 – Sam Davis

The educational facilities in this district are generally unchanged, with the exception of Hillcrest K-8 getting moved to District 4. 

  • Chabot Elementary
  • Claremont Middle
  • Emerson Elementary
  • Oakland Intercontinental Superior
  • Oakland Specialized Significant
  • Peralta Elementary
  • Piedmont Avenue Elementary
  • Sankofa United Elementary
  • Younger Grownup System

District 2 – Aimee Eng

The colleges here continue being the exact same. La Escuelita, which now serves kindergarten to 8th quality, will get rid of its center university grades this year. 

  • Bella Vista Elementary
  • Cleveland Elementary
  • Crocker Highlands Elementary
  • Dewey Academy
  • Franklin Elementary
  • Garfield Elementary
  • Gateway to University at Laney College
  • La Escuelita
  • Lincoln Elementary
  • Oakland Significant
  • Metwest Significant
  • Roosevelt Middle

District 3 – VanCedric Williams

This district’s colleges are also unchanged. 

  • Emiliano Zapata Avenue Academy
  • Hoover Elementary
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary
  • McClymonds Higher
  • Prescott Elementary
  • Ralph J. Bunche Large
  • Westlake Middle
  • West Oakland Middle

District 4 – Gary Yee

This district acquired 3 new schools: Hillcrest (earlier in District 1), and Glenview Elementary, and Edna Brewer Middle (all previously in District 5). Horace Mann Elementary and Fruitvale Elementary ended up in District 4 and are now in District 5. 

  • Allendale Elementary
  • Bret Harte Center
  • Edna Brewer Center
  • Glenview Elementary
  • Hillcrest K-8
  • Joaquin Miller Elementary
  • Laurel Elementary
  • Montclair Elementary
  • Montera Center
  • Redwood Heights Elementary
  • Sequoia Elementary
  • Thornhill Elementary

District 5 – Mike Hutchinson

This district missing Edna Brewer Middle University and Glenview Elementary Faculty to District 4, and acquired Fruitvale Elementary and Horace Mann Elementary, but the latter will be closing immediately after the 2022-2023 university 12 months.

  • Bridges Academy at Melrose
  • Fremont High
  • Fruitvale Elementary
  • International Family members Elementary
  • Horace Mann Elementary
  • International Group School
  • Everyday living Academy 
  • Manzanita Neighborhood Elementary
  • Manzanita SEED Elementary
  • Believe University Now
  • United for Results Academy
  • City Guarantee Academy

District 6 – Shanthi Gonzales

This district now features Rudsdale Continuation School, Sojourner Truth Impartial Examine, and Oakland Academy of Awareness, which were previously in District 7. (Sojourner Fact Impartial Examine presently offers virtual discovering only.) 

Parker K-8 and Group Working day College, an substitute faculty for expelled learners, will be closed at the close of this faculty year. Carl B. Munck is closing up coming year. 

  • Skyline Higher
  • Burckhalter Elementary
  • Carl B. Munck Elementary
  • Coliseum University Prep Academy
  • Neighborhood Day College
  • East Oakland Pride Elementary
  • Frick United Academy of Language
  • Greenleaf Elementary
  • Lockwood STEAM Academy
  • Markham Elementary
  • Melrose Leadership Academy
  • Oakland Academy of Understanding
  • Parker K-8
  • Rudsdale Continuation School
  • Sojourner Truth 

District 7 – Clifford Thompson

Oakland Academy of Expertise, Rudsdale Continuation School and Sojourner Truth of the matter Independent Research have moved to District 6. 

Three educational facilities in District 7 are slated to near subsequent year: Grass Valley Elementary, Korematsu Discovery Academy, and Brookfield Elementary. Increase Local community Elementary and New Highland Academy, which are on the identical campus, will merge this calendar year.

  • Acorn Woodland Elementary
  • Brookfield Elementary
  • Castlemont Superior
  • Elmhurst United Middle
  • Encompass Academy
  • Esperanza Elementary
  • Grass Valley Elementary
  • Korematsu Discovery Academy
  • Madison Park Academy TK-5
  • Madison Park Academy 6-12
  • New Highland Academy
  • Attain Academy
  • Increase Community Elementary

You may also like